Call for Free Help 800-782-2878
COVID-19: We’re here to help you during this critical time.
info@cchrflorida.org
What are the rules for the Baker Act in Florida?

What do they do when they Baker Act you?

Usually a person who is Baker Acted is transported to a psychiatric facility by law enforcement for an initial examination by a psychiatrist. Once at the facility the person can be held involuntarily for up to 72 hours. For more information on the Baker Act click...
What are the rules for the Baker Act in Florida?

What happens after 72 hours of Baker Act?

A person may not be held for longer than 72 hours and when the 72 hours is up the person must be released unless charged with a crime, or the person must decide to stay on a voluntary basis or the facility must file a petition for involuntary commitment. For more...